Montesquieu Institute: from science to society

Bosnia and Herzegovina: EU appoints new Special Representative

Today the Council appointed Johann Sattler as EU Special Representative in Bosnia and Herzegovina. He will also take over the role of the Head of the European Union's Delegation in Sarajevo.

Mr Sattler will replace Lars-Gunnar Wigemark, who was appointed in 2015. Mr Sattler will take up his duties on 1 September 2019 and has been appointed initially for two years.

His mandate is based on the following EU policy objectives in Bosnia and Herzegovina:

  • continuing progress in the stabilisation and association process
  • ensuring a stable, viable, peaceful, multi-ethnic and united country that cooperates peacefully with its neighbours
  • ensuring that the country is irreversibly on track towards EU membership, following the publication of the Commission opinion on its membership application on 29 May 2019

Throughout his previous experience, and currently as Austrian ambassador to Albania, Johann Sattler has had a particular focus on the Western Balkans.

EU Special Representatives promote the EU's policies and interests in certain regions and countries as well as issues of particular concern or interest for the EU. They play an active role in efforts to consolidate reforms, stability and the rule of law. The first EU Special Representatives were appointed in 1996. Currently, eight EUSRs support the work of the High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, Federica Mogherini.

The Candidate Countries Republic of North Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Serbia* and Albania*, the country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Georgia align themselves with this Declaration.

*Republic of North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process

The decision was adopted by written procedure on 8 August 2019.